Days 8 and 9

Today, I visited the University’s School of Nursing, where we learned how to perform infant massages. I walked into the classroom a bit skeptical, but I was pleasantly surprised by the overall experience. The scented candles, tea, and spa-like music contributed to a relaxing environment. I learned that massage has been shown to increase the analgesic effects of glucose, which could decrease an infant’s pain after unpleasant procedures like injections. In addition, studies have supported its effectiveness in improving the maternal-infant bond in mothers with postpartum depression. In the United States, we aren’t often exposed to alternative treatments and medications, so I was glad to have this experience. Thank you to the enthusatic nurses who took the time to instruct us today!! During our pharmaceutical lecture, we were reminded that herbal remedies are not free of side effects and interactions. St. John’s Wort, which is used to treat depression, interacts with over 800 known medications. For this reason, it is important to specifically ask patients if they are taking homeopathic medications when obtaining a history. Many patients do not think of herbal remedies as drugs and thus will not include them in a list of their current medications. This is a great reminder that I’ll use in my everyday practice. I can’t believe that tomorrow’s the last day of lecture before we begin group projects. I’ll be sure to keep you in the loop throughout that process.

Leave a comment